Getting back into the swing of things…..

So.. I have been COMPLETELY neglecting my blogs. I felt that I needed to change this, so here I am.

Firstly, over the summer I was working full time with children, and though this was exhausting, it inspired me a great deal. I was in charge of a group of 8 year olds, and they were a really sweet and creative bunch. It was nice to gain a new perspective. In addition to that, I did finish some artwork, but that is to be posted later. I don’t know of it’s portfolio-worthy, but we’ll see.

Recently, I’ve been thinking about book illustration a lot. I really really like it in that you can get a story across using SO many different techniques! I like to think of them as illustrated movie stills.

In other news, this term I’m working on an independent study towards creating an archaeological illustration portfolio. So far, I have one set of illustrations, but I’m working on another presently (again, this is for a later post).

I’ve been trying to work more in digital media with mixed results. I have to spend more time with it is the bottom line. I want to do a series of illustrations with a more graphic quality than I have been doing. I really like graphic art, so I think I’ll have fun developing my on style with it 🙂

Lastly, here is a list of some projects that I’m hoping to complete at some point before the end of the year. I most likely won’t complete these, but I’ll try to get some out 😛

– Adventure sports watercolors. I love rock climbing, skiing, hiking, kayaking, etc and I’ve been meaning to paint some scenes of these adventure sports.

– Book illustration for: Marcovaldo by Italo Calvino, Seta by Alessandro Baricco, maybe Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, perhaps Lord of the Rings/ The Hobbit art (The Hobbit comes out in theaters Dec 14th! Mark your calendars!)

– Gouaches/ watercolors of photos from my study abroad trip. I want to improve my skills in gouaches in particular.

– Animal and paintings/pen and ink drawings. It’s super dorky, but I’m kind of in love with the BBC Planet Earth series, and I have a list of animals that I want to draw from that. I think that fur and other textures will be really fun to render.

– Italian style domes. While living in Naples, I counted that there were at least 15 domes in the city. I really fell in love with the form and the shape as an architectural element. I hope that maybe after this project, I can work on a project about Gothic cathedrals too. I’m an art history dork, clearly.

– Lastly, an alphabet book. I want to include vintage style animal images with the letters (the animals representing the different letters). I think that this will be a very fun project, especially after working with the kids!

Of course there will always be more stuff that I’ll be working on like assignments and hopefully work soon! *crossing my fingers*

Hopefully, I’ll be able to keep up with this blog, but life is always giving me other priorities!

~J

Leave a Reply

